Conference

Schedule of Events

General Information on Seminars and Roundtable

These sessions will each have leaders to keep discussion on topic, and introduce new questions that link papers together within the group. After the first 45 minutes (at the leaders' discretion), auditors in the audience may join in with comments and questions. OBJECT: discussion, not repetition of posted papers. You may be asked to state your key point, or the ambiguous points worthy of more complex discussion, or contradictions appearing in other posted papers. To state the obvious: Read your seminar's papers before the seminar begins! Note questions you want to ask. For younger members, here is an outline of acceptable question types and responses.


SEMINAR 1: The 'Character' of London in Print and on Stage

Janelle Jenstad <jenstad@uvic.ca> (streets/neighbourhoods of London), leader of 6 participants
Total of 4 authors and 5 absentees, 3 substitutes: total of 9 papers
Focus: performing the city of London

  1. Karen Cunningham <kcunning@humnet.ucla.edu> (early modern law)
  2. Sarah Johnson, reviewer <Sarah.Johnson@rmc.ca> (speaking for Matt Steggle and Carole Levin)
  3. Kirk Melnikoff <kbmelnik@uncc.edu> (printing; speaking for David McInnis)
  4. Helen Ostovich <ostovich@mcmaster.ca> (speaking for Daryl Palmer)
  5. Andy Kesson <andy.kesson@roehampton.ac.uk> (speaking for Duncan Salkeld)
  6. Katrine Wong <kwong@umac.mo> (street songs and fluctuations in rank, plight of women)

Absent: Matt Steggle <M.Steggle@shu.ac.uk> (plague), David McInnis (lost Wilson plays), Carole Levin <levin829@yahoo.com> (Queen Elizabeth), Daryl Palmer <dpalmer@regis.edu> (old hospitality, and other impacts on city), Duncan Salkeld <d.salkeld@chi.ac.uk> on documented prostitutes)


SEMINAR 2: Performing the Impact of Foreigners

Erin Julian <julianec@mcmaster.ca>, leader of 6 participants
Total: 5 authors, 4 absentees, 2 substitutes, 1 actor: total of 9 papers
Focus: Italians, Jews, and Turks at home and abroad

  1. Fatima Ebrahim <fpatel3@uwo.ca> (English perception of Turks; speaking for Anders Ingram)
  2. Melinda Gough <goughm@mcmaster.ca> (speaking for Pam Brown)
  3. Brett Hirsch <brett.hirsch@uwa.edu.au> (Jews; MV and JM; speaking for Lisa Hopkins)
  4. Lloyd Kermode <Lloyd.Kermode@csulb.edu> (Simple justice; speaking for Dan Vitkus)
  5. Omar Khafagy <khafago@mcmaster.ca>, (actor playing Gerontus in Three Ladies)
  6. Mathew Martin <mmartin@brocku.ca> (Turks and Toleration)

Absent: Lisa Hopkins <L.M.Hopkins@shu.ac.uk> (MV and Jew of Malta); Pam Brown <pambrown12@gmail.com> (Italian staging of comedy and women); Anders Ingram <anders.ingram@nuigalway.ie> (Turks); Dan Vitkus <dvitkuswork@gmail.com> (Turks and Ottoman Empire — idea of justice in foreign land)


SEMINAR 3: Performance as Research and/as Pedagogy

Helen Ostovich <ostovich@mcmaster.ca>, leader (Doubling Love) of 8 participants
Total: 7 authors, 2 reviewers: 7 papers
Focus: Drama, religion, and pedagogy: early modern pedagogy and modern teaching tool

  1. David Bevington <bevi@uchicago.edu> (Croxton play and moment of epiphany)
  2. Jessica Dell <jedell77@gmail.com> (classroom performance of 3LL scenes)
  3. Alan Dessen, reviewer <acdessen@email.unc.edu> (text and performance)
  4. Elizabeth Hanson <hansone@queensu.ca> (early modern pedagogy)
  5. Erin Kelly <ekelly@uvic.ca> (Peter Pleaseman, Mercadorus)
  6. Rory McKeown <rh.mckeown@utoronto.ca> (city comedy)
  7. Meredith Skura, reviewer <skura@rice.edu> ('the purpose of playing' / creativity and education)
  8. Paul Whitfield White <pwhite@purdue.edu> (Simony)

SEMINAR 4: Two 1592 Plays and the Performance of Gender

Roslyn Knutson <RLKnutson@ualr.edu>, leader of 7 participants
Total: 5 authors, 2 directors, 2 absentees – 7 papers and 2 plays
Focus on gender politics as case study for thinking about performance and historical performance networks

  1. Peter Cockett <cockett@mcmaster.ca> (director of Three Ladies, speaking for Jeremy Lopez)
  2. Claire Jowitt <C.Jowitt@soton.ac.uk> (prostitutes / gender)
  3. Bryan Nakawaki <bnakawak@purdue.edu> (dramaturgy of 3LL and 3L3LL)
  4. Edel Semple <e.semple@ucc.ie> (prostitutes / gender)
  5. Jennifer Roberts-Smith <j33robertssmith@uwaterloo.ca> (director of 1H6)
  6. Jessica Swain <swainjm@mcmaster.ca> (emblems, speaking for Andrea Stevens/rehearsals)
  7. Leslie Thomson <lthomson@chass.utoronto.ca> (stage directions)

Absent: Jeremy Lopez <jeremy.lopez@utoronto.ca> (on 14ers in a modern production); Andrea Stevens <arstev@illinois.edu> (cosmetics and box of abominations)


ROUNDTABLE. PAR Methodologies and Early Theatre: What Have We Have Learned?

Melinda Gough <goughm@mcmaster.ca> and Chantelle Thauvette <cthauvette@siena.edu>, leaders
Total: 3 posted papers, 2 keynotes (heard papers), 1 reviewer. 1 editor = 5 papers plus 1 script

Focus on PAR in the context of early theatre studies, and vice versa: What methodologies can we pull out of our discussions and experiences this week that may be useful for going forward, pedagogically, practically, and critically? Feel free to refer to our two productions and to the various papers online.

  1. Christian Billing <c.m.billing@hull.ac.uk> (keynote)
  2. Rob Conkie <r.conkie@latrobe.edu.au> (keynote)
  3. Jackie Jenkins <jenkinsj@ucalgary.ca>
  4. Andy Kesson <andy.kesson@roehampton.ac.uk>
  5. Kevin Quarmby <kevin.quarmby@emory.edu>
  6. Elly Rycroft, reviewer <e.rycroft@bristol.ac.uk>